Home   Sport   Article

Tain Golf Club prepares to co-host Scottish Amateur Championship

By Will Clark

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

TAIN Golf Club is preparing to welcome the top amateur golfers in the country as it co-hosts the Scottish Amateur Championship next week.

Tain Golf Club.
Tain Golf Club.

The club, along with Royal Dornoch Golf Club in Sutherland, will host the biggest amateur competition in the country which starts on Tuesday.

A 264-strong field will take part in the initial 36-hole stroke play challenge before 64 players head into the match play phase for the overall title.

All players will play both courses at Tain and Dornoch during the 36-hole stroke play challenge, before the qualifiers move to the match play rounds which will be held at Royal Dornoch.

Tain clubhouse manager Richard Green says preparations are going well as they look forward to co-hosting the event next week.

“The course is looking in fantastic condition ahead of the tournament,” he said.

“It is a massive honour for us to be co-hosting the tournament with Royal Dornoch.

“It has hosted Scottish championships before, but never anything on this scale.

“All the golfers will be playing at Tain during the qualifying round during Tuesday and Wednesday, before the matchplay rounds move to Dornoch.

“Senior greenkeeper Ross Macrae has done a sterling job getting the course into such an excellent condition and we are looking forward to the event.

Tain Golf Club will have three players confirmed to enter the competition with Scott Macdougall, Billy Ferries and Sean Kennedy all taking part.

Fortrose and Rosemarkie quartet Chris Gaittens, Evan Gill, Lewis Reid and Jack Mann are also confirmed to be taking part in the competition.

John Forbes from Muir of Ord has also confirmed his entry.

Royal Dornoch Golf Club will have five players entered for the competition with Kevin Matheson, Michael Schinkel, Kristian Sinclair, Alan Murphy and William Short confirming their participation.

Chris Mailley from Brora Golf Club will also be representing Sutherland at the tournament.

Other Highland golf clubs represented include Kieran Mackay and Jonathon Keith from Inverness, David Sanderson from Kings Golf Club along with Ewan Cuthbert, Calum Daun and Alex Macgillivray from Nairn Golf Club.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More