Home   Sport   Article

Ross golfers confirmed to play at Scottish Amateur Championship at Tain and Dornoch

By Will Clark

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

Ross-shire golfers have been confirmed to take part in the Scottish Men’s Amateur Championship lined up for Royal Dornoch and Tain.

Lewis Reid. Picture: Callum Mackay.
Lewis Reid. Picture: Callum Mackay.

Scott Macdougall, Billy Ferries and Sean Kennedy will be on home soil at Tain when the competition is taking place from Tuesday, August 1 to Saturday, August 5.

Fortrose and Rosemarkie quartet Chris Gaittens, Evan Gill, Lewis Reid and Jack Mann are also teeing-up.

John Forbes from Muir of Ord will also be competing in the event.

A 264-strong field will take part in the initial 36-hole stroke play challenge before 64 players head into the match play phase hoping to land the title.

Sutherland clubs will be represented by Royal Dornoch quintet Kevin Matheson, Michael Schinkel, Kristian Sinclair, Alan Murphy and William Short.

Fellow members David Strachan (Turnberry) and James Bunch (Prestwick) are joined by UHI student Cameron McGarvie (Prestwick).

Chris Mailley will be competing for Brora Golf Club.

Kieran Mackay and Jonathon Keith from Inverness Golf Club along with David Sanderson from Kings Golf Club are confirmed to be taking part in the event.

Ewan Cuthbert, Calum Daun and Alex Macgillivray from Nairn Golf Club are also taking part.

Four players from Caithness will be competing at the event, with Wick members Nicky Klimas and Douglas Thorburn in the field along with Gregor Munro and Tom Ross from Reay Golf Club.

Neil Hampton, general manager of Royal Dornoch Golf Club, has welcomed the North District pack teeing-up on familiar territory and is looking forward to an exciting week of competition at the start of August.

“It’s marvellous to see so many low handicap players from clubs across the Highlands in the field this year and spectators will be made very welcome,” he said.

“While this is the first time Tain has hosted a prestigious championship dating back to 1922, it has been held over Royal Dornoch’s Championship Course on three previous occasions.

“Tour winner Grant Forrest won in 2012, following on from Steven O’Hara in 2000 and Dean Robertson in 1993.

“Both the courses hosting the tournament are in superb condition and I’m sure the competitors will enjoy their experience.”

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More