Home   Sport   Article

Ross County confirm they will not enter colts team into Trust Trophy next season

By Will Clark

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

Ross County have confirmed they will not be entering a colts team into the SPFL Trust Trophy next season.

Ross County won the Challenge Cup in 2019.
Ross County won the Challenge Cup in 2019.

The Staggies will be the only Premiership club not represented in the tournament after it was confirmed the 11 other teams will enter a colts team.

Four Highland League clubs, Brechin City, Brora Rangers, Buckie Thistle and Formartine United will play in the competition.

They will join clubs from the Championship, League One and League Two in the tournament.

Four teams from the Lowland League, Albion Rovers, University of Stirling, Tranent FC and East Kilbride will also take part.

In addition, Welsh clubs The New Saints and Bala Town and Cliftonville and Coleraine from Northern Ireland will also enter the Trust Trophy.

The first round begins in the midweek of Tuesday, August 1 with colts teams, Highland League teams, Lowland League teams as well as Bonnyrigg Rose, Elgin City and Spartans.

Ross County also did not enter a colts team into the competition last season either.

The Staggies first team won the competition, when it was known as the Challenge Cup in 2019, when they beat Welsh outfit Connah's Quay Nomads 3-1 in the final held at the Caledonian Stadium in Inverness.

Ross County last entered a colts team in the 2019/20 competition when they defeated Highland League outfit Fraserburgh 3-2 in the first round.

But they were knocked out in the second round losing 3-2 to Raith Rovers at the Global Energy Stadium in Dingwall.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More