Home   News   Article

Kiltearn among contested community councils announced, while 30 remain in abeyance

By Niall Harkiss

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!
Locator Highland Council Headquarters on Glenurquhart Raod.Inverness.Picture: Gary Anthony.
Locator Highland Council Headquarters on Glenurquhart Raod.Inverness.Picture: Gary Anthony.

Kiltearn community council in Evanton has been named as one of 10 councils that will be formed after Highland Council announced the results of postal balloting this week.

Ballot papers were posted out to all those registered to vote as of October 1, 2023 earlier this year.

Eight candidates were elected to serve the community council, including Gabrielle Buist, Susan Crookes, Shelagh Dennett, Mike Finlayson, Annelie Graham, Mandy MacLeman, John McHardy and Sarah McNair. Four candidates were unsuccessful in receiving the necessary amount of votes.

Kiltearn joins a list that also includes Bettyhill, Strathnaver and Altnaharra, Croy and Culloden Moor, Dunvegan, Glengarry, Melvich

Spean Bridge, Roy Bridge and Achnacarry, Thurso, Watten and Wester Loch Ewe.

Details of the nominations and the list of results are available now from the Highland Council website at highland.gov.uk/ccelections.

Highland Council also confirmed that a total of 30 community councils shall remain in abeyance for the time being.

Balintore and Hilton, Inver, Muir of Ord, Nigg and Shandwick, Resolis and Tain were all named among 30 community councils that have not been established, as they failed to attract a necessary half of the maximum members to form.

The next opportunity for community council nominations will commence in January 2024.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More