Home   Sport   Article

Ross-shire six called up to North shinty squad

By Will Clark

Get the Ross-shire Journal sent to your inbox every week and swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper

SIX Ross-shire shinty players have been called up to the North squad to take on the South in Fort William.

Campbell Lamont is one of five Kinlochshiel players called up to the squad. Picture: Neil Paterson
Campbell Lamont is one of five Kinlochshiel players called up to the squad. Picture: Neil Paterson

Five Kinlochshiel players have been named in the North under-14 team to play in the Fraser MacPhee Memorial Cup on Wednesday.

Arron Jack, Campbell Lamont, Ketan MacKenzie, Archie Macrae and Rory Slaughter have all been selected.

The quintet were part of the Kinlochshiel under-14 team that won the MacMaster Cup beating Oban Camanachd 7–1 in the final two weeks ago.

Meanwhile, Caberfeidh’s Connor MacGregor has been called up to the North under-17 squad.

Camanachd Association youth director Willie MacDonald said: “The coaches across all four squads have had some tough choices to make in selecting this year’s squad.

“There is undoubtedly an abundance of talent.

“It is also especially pleasing to see the progression of a number of players have made from under-14 to under-17 and then to the under-21 national squad over the past few years.

“So the importance of this event to a player’s pathway is clear to see.”

The under-14 match takes place at noon with the under-17 encounter at 2pm on Wednesday.

North Under 14 Squad

Lennox Stewart (Beauly)

Ketan MacKenzie (Kinlochshiel)

Campbell Lamont (Kinlochshiel)

Ian MacLauchlan (Beauly)

William Sutherland (Skye)

Arron Jack (Kinlochshiel)

Finlay Maclennan (Beauly)

Ian Hunter (Inverness)

Freddy Patterson (Ardnamurchan)

Rory Slaughter (Kinlochshiel)

Hope Borthwick (Kingussie)

Archie Macrae (Kinlochshiel)

Calum Macivar (Beauly)

Cameron Stephen (Fort William)

Rhys Kennedy (Fort William)

Taeghan Macleod (Kingussie)

Coach: John Matheson

North Under 17 Squad

Murphy Henderson (Skye)

Johnny Forster (Fort William)

Declan Brannan (Newtonmore)

Connor MacGregor (Caberfeidh)

Cammy Leiper (Kingussie)

Struan Robertson (Kingussie)

Hamish Shaw (Fort William)

Cam Clark (Kilmallie)

Cameron Bremner (Glenurquhart)

Max Campbell (Lochaber)

Ross Gordon (Skye)

Alastair Maclean (Strathglass)

Ross Mackinnon (Skye)

Sorley Thomson (Newtonmore)

Struan Ross (Newtonmore)

Lewis Murphy (Fort William)

Coaches -Lachie Innes and Willie MacDonald

South Under 14 Squad

Gordon Currie (Bute)

Robin McAlister (Bute)

Calum McMillan (Bute)

Ronnie McMillan (Bute)

Louie MacFarlane (Oban Camanachd)

Innes Jackson (Oban Camanachd)

Logan Black (Oban Camanachd)

Finlay Cameron (Oban Camanachd)

Joe MacVicar (Oban Camanachd)

Kyle MacFarlane (Oban Camanachd)

Daniel Pearson (Oban Camanachd)

Duncan MacEwan (Oban Celtic)

Innes Cameron (Kilmory)

Andrew Innes (Kilmory)

Cameron Weir (Glasgow Mid Argyll)

Calum Bryden (Glasgow Mid Argyll)

Coaches: Les Kinvig

South Under 17 Squad

Dougie MacDonald (Oban Camanachd)

Daniel Sloss (Oban Camanachd)

Blair MacFarlane (Oban Camanachd)

Ross Campbell (Oban Camanachd)

Scott MacVicar (Col Glen)

Murray McLymont (Col Glen)

Kyle Kerr (Col Glen)

Finan Kennedy (Col Glen)

Scott Harvey (Bute)

Aodan Burns (Aberdour)

Campbell Watt (Inveraray)

Lennan MacKechnie (Glenorchy)

Ryan Barclay (Glenorchy)

Jamie Anderson (Oban Celtic)

Lennon Campbell (Oban Celtic)

Murdo Macrae (Kyles)

Coaches – Alan Mackenchie

Get a digital copy of the Ross-shire Journal delivered straight to your inbox every week allowing you to swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper - it looks just like it does in print!


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More