Home   News   Article

Ross shocks in Highland Council results

By Laurence Ford

Lost seat - Davie Chisholm
Lost seat - Davie Chisholm

THERE were two major shocks in the Ross-shire results in the Highland Council election.

In the Tain and Easter Ross Ward 8, Independent Richard Durham failed to get re-elected, while former MSP Jamie Stone was returned under the Liberal Democrat banner.

Mr Durham has found himself mired in controversy recently in his position as chairman of the Highlands and Islands Fire Board which has been at the centre of a management and training storm, with union members giving bosses a no confidence vote.

And in Ward 9, Dingwall and Seaforth, long-standing independentcouncillor Davie Chisholm, from Muir of Ord, has been ousted as has former SNP councillor Peter Cairns.

In their places come former Dingwall Academy rector Graham MacKenzie flying the SNP colours, and independent Alister Mackinnon.

Two sitting councillors Angela MacLean, liberal Democrats, and Margaret Paterson, Independent, retain their seats.

The make-up of Ward 10, Black Isle, remains the same with all four previous councilors returned.

A recount was required in the Cromarty Firth ward.

The Ross results in the Highland Council election are:

Ward 7 – Cromarty Firth

Mike Finlayson (Independent)

Martin Rattray (Liberal Democrats)

Maxine Smith (SNP)

Carolyn Wilson (Independent)

Electorate 9,456

Turn out 35.1%

Not elected – Sheila Fletcher (SNP), John MacInnes (Scottish Labour), Tina McCaffery; Jane Rous (Scottish Conservatives).

Ward 9 - Dingwall and Seaforth

Graham Alexander MacKenzie (SNP)

Alister Mackinnon, (Independent)

Angela MacLean (Liberal Democrats)

Margaret Paterson (Independent)

Electorate 9,256

Turn out 39.04%

Not-elected – Peter Cairns (SNP), David John Chisholm (Independent), John Robert Erskine (Scottish Labour), David James Forbes (Scottish Christian Party "Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship"), Fred Lees (Independent), Matthew MacDonald Scottish Conservatives)

Ward 10 - Black Isle

David Alston (Liberal Democrats)

Billy Barclay (Independent)

Craig Alexander Fraser (SNP)

Isobel McCallum (Independent)

Electorate 8,205

Turn out 51.92%

Not elected – Myra Carus (Scottish Green Party), Pamela Cornwell (Scottish Conservatives), Morris Mackenzie Downie; Paul Horwood (Scottish Christian Party), Michael Macmillan (Scottish Labour).

Former Fire Board chair Richard Durham.
Former Fire Board chair Richard Durham.

Ward 8 - Tain and Easter Ross

Alasdair Rhind (Independent)

Fiona Robertson (Independent)

Jamie Stone (Liberal Democrats)

Electorate 7051

Turn out 44.05%

Not elected - Richard Durham (Independent), Charlie Falconer (SNP), Sean Alexander Robertson (Scottish Anti-Cuts Coalition), David Rutherford (Scottish Conservatives), Ron Stevenson (Scottish Labour).

Ward 6 - Wester Ross, Strathpeffer and Lochalsh

Biz Campbell (Liberal Democrats)

Ian Cockburn (SNP)

Richard Greene (Independent)

Audrey Sinclair (Independent)

Electorate 9612

Turn out 44.45%

Not elected – Alaine Macdonald (Scottish Conservatives), Richard Mitchell (Independent), Paul Monaghan (SNP).

Ward 11 - Eilean a’ Cheò (Skye)

Hamish Fraser (Independent),

John R Gordon (Independent),

Drew Millar (Liberal Democrats),

Ian Renwick (SNP).

Electorate 8,161

Turn out 44.22%

Not elected – John Crews (Scottish Conservatives), Andrew Mackintosh (Scottish Labour), Moira Scobbie (Independent).

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More