Home   News   Article

Highland Council Election: Dingwall and Seaforth declares as as former pub landlord joins the remaining three incumbents to represent Ward 8

By Scott Maclennan

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

In Brief

Those Elected:

Sean Edward Kennedy Independent – 599

Graham Alexander Mackenzie Scottish National Party SNP – 1494

Angela Maclean Scottish Liberal Democrats – 773

Margaret Paterson Independent – 698

Those Not Elected:

Gavin Berkenheger Scottish Conservative and Unionist – 650

Les Hood Scottish Labour Party – 216

Thomas Widrow Scottish Greens – 210

Main Issues: parking charges, investment, infrastructure, local democracy

The former Mallard Pub boss Sean Kennedy has been elected alongside the three remaining incumbents to represent Dingwall and Seaforth.

Councillor Margaret Paterson stormed back after beating cancer to retaining her seat which she has held for almost three decades.

While Liberal Democrat Angela Maclean overcame personal loss during the campaign to retain her place in council.

But the SNP's Graham Mackenzie was by far the most popular choice with a resounding win of 1494.

Those elected are chosen through the Single Transferable Vote system, while the tallies above represent first choice votes – to read about how the system works you can click here.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More