Home   News   Article

Dingwall Academy prize-winners take a bow as pupils at Ross-shire's largest secondary school prepare for summer break

By Hector MacKenzie

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

Prizewinners take a bow surrounded by teachers, amongst them retirees Douglas MacIntosh (depute rector), Mario Di Carlo (depute rector) and Natalie MacLeod (French teacher).
Prizewinners take a bow surrounded by teachers, amongst them retirees Douglas MacIntosh (depute rector), Mario Di Carlo (depute rector) and Natalie MacLeod (French teacher).

SENIOR pupils at Dingwall Academy have taken a bow at a prize-giving which acknowledges effort and excellence in pursuits across the curriculum.

Like others across the county, Ross-shire's largest secondary adapted its activities dramatically during the coronavirus crisis with learning from home replacing face-to-face teaching in classrooms.

The return to classrooms has been a cause for celebration as the school gets back into its routine.

Dux Paul Graham and proxime accessit Angela Nankivell took a bow amongst an array of prize-winners with rector Karen Cormack reflecting on another successful school year.

Highland Council schools closed for the summer break last week and will return in August.

Dingwall Academy prize-giving list


Lucy Adam – Administration & IT; Elowen Clarke – Woodwork; Cameron Coburn – Music; Amanda Collier – Maths; Sam Coull – Maths; Eva Ewart – Practical Cookery; Katie Forth – Computing Science; Iona Gilbertson – Physics; Alexander Ince – Geography; Emily James – Dance; Jaimee Maclennan – Practical Cookery; Luna Retamozo Bannerman – Spanish; Evie Richardson – Gaidhlig; Sophie Robertson – Business Management; Amber Stewart – English; Karin Bartkova – Business Management; Jocris Biagtan – Maths; Nikita Bryan – Woodwork; Kayden Campbell – PE; Neve Gow – BSL; Lara Kotschujew – Geography; Kara MacDonald – History; Matthew MacDonald – Biology; Hannah MacKintosh – Music; Isla Maclean – BSL; Anja MacLennan – Metalwork; Tyler Macphee – English; Grace Marshall – Modern Studies; Lilidh-Maree McLean – Art; Cole Norton – Physics; Cooper Patrick – Maths; Sophie Pokorniecki – Practical Cookery; Isabelle Rose – Dance; Diyar Swanson – Modern Studies; Struan Wallace – Practical Electronics; Ruby Wittka-Jezewski – Art.

Leo Smith – Highland Crystal Trophy.

Katie Ferguson – Art, History; Ewan Goddard – Business Management, Graphics Communication; Matthew Laidlaw – Metalwork; – Practical Electronics; Meagan Macleod – Computing Science, Art; Jennifer Campbell – Philosophy, Administration & IT; Samuel Loduchowski – Digital Media, Chemistry; Ruaridh MacIvor – Modern Studies, Practical Electronics; Rachel Martin – Music, Gaelic Learners, Maryburgh Gaelic Choir Trophy; Alistair Urquhart – Graphics Communication, Business Management; Stephen Copley – Computing Science, Practical Cookery; Audrey Daines – Geography, German; Ruaraidh Drennan – Gaidhlig, Music; Caitlyn Heggie – Gaelic Learners, History, PE, Dingwall Academy Outstanding Achievement in Sport (joint); Zak Fearn – PE, Dingwall Academy Outstanding Achievement in Sport (joint); Morag Lynch – PE, French, Spanish, Reeve Memorial for Progress in Modern Languages (joint); Ruairidh MacLellan – Reeve Memorial for Progress in Modern Languages (joint); Andrew Thornton – Physics, Computing Science, Digital Media; Lilli Lamont – Modern Studies, English, Graphics Communication, Philosophy; Isla Sutherland – Art, Biology, French, Chemistry; Victor Atkinson – English, Geography, Chemistry, History, Physics.


Jack Ferguson – German; Kyle Lawrie – Spanish; Lewis MacArthur – Gaidhlig; Evie MacCulloch – German; Aimee Milne – French, Alexander Glass Quaich; Faith Wilson –Gaidhlig; Shonagh Reid – German; Finlay Stewart – Spanish; Catriona Magee –Administration & IT, German; Bethany McAllister – Business Management, Spanish, Administration & IT; Eilidh Dransfield – History, English, Spanish; Imogen Bardsley – Biology; Eoghan Chisholm – Computing Science; Jason Clark – Graphics Communication; Anthony Denovan – Music; Teigan Gollan – Practical Cookery; Jasmine Kalata – Art; Beth Liddle – Human Biology; Itgel Little – Philosophy; Andrea MacDonald – Music; Hugh Morrison – Maths; Amy Moss – Modern Studies; Calum Sellar – Geography; Kacper Szymanski – Physics; Morag Hickey – PE, Alistair MacGregor Memorial Prize; Rebekah Innes – RMPS; Daisy Le Good – English; Beth Mackay – Philosophy; Beth Mackenzie – Biology; Jack Towell – Environmental Science; Gipsie Bryson – BSL, Deaf Studies Trophy; Katie Ewen – Biology; Matthew Fraser – RMPS; Matthew MacGregor – Human Biology; Alisha Maiden – Music; Jynx Millar – Philosophy; Ewan More – Maths; Natalya Stone – Geography; Fraser Wilson – Administration & IT; John Zheng P– Physics; Natasha Green – The Heart & Soul Award; Rosie Haines – Lorna Wildman Eulogy Rose Bowl; Bethany Fraser – Art; Rosie Green – Design & Manufacture; Rachel Maclennan – History; Dougie Main – History; Katie Reid – Applications of Maths; Taylor Romeniuk – English; Annie Sinclair – Art; Emily Tham – Administration & IT; Sam Wallace – Geography; Beth Fraser – Art, English; Andrew Georgeson – Design & Manufacture, Wood Trophy for Physical Education & Sport; Mouhaime Sakaan – Administration & IT, ESOL; Heather Christie – Chemistry; Graphics Communication, Gavin Keen Trophy; Jamie Boldra – Prize for work in Tutorial, Ruth Gilvray Trophy; Rhea Porter – English, Art, The Graham A MacKenzie Prize for English; Mia Ross – Business Management, RMPS; Lia Smith – BSL, Practical Cookery;Karolina Grzywacz – Applications of Maths, Travel & Tourism; Nell Fraser – Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science; Harry Forsyth – Physics, Computing Science, Maths, Darren Dalgetty Trophy for Computing; Callum Smith – Alexander Glass Memorial Cup (joint); Aaron Fraser – Chemistry, Maths, Music, Physics, Alexander Glass Memorial Cup (joint), Dingwall Rotary Club Alex Ferguson Shield, Robert K Kerr Memorial Shield, Dingwall Gaelic Choir Quaich (joint); Erin Watters – Graphics Communication, Dingwall Gaelic Choir Quaich (joint), Mhairi Cameron Dingwall Gaelic Choir Quaich (joint).

Callum Porter – School Captain

Erin Watters – School Captain

Angela Nankivell – Chemistry,Maths, Biology, Music, Physics, Hillin Trophy, Proxime Accesit; Paul Graham – Geography, History, Modern Studies, Philosophy, Diamond Jubilee Quaich, George Strachan Globe, Dux.


Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More