Home   News   Article

Community council spots up for grabs in Fortrose and Rosemarkie, Marybank, Scatwell and Strathconon and Shieldaig with deadline for nominations set and appeal to folk to step forward

By Hector MacKenzie

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

WOULD-BE community councillors in Ross-shire are being invited to step forward for nomination.

Nominations are being invited from people seeking election to fifteen Highland community councils covering areas in Ross and Cromarty, Wester Ross, Sutherland, Isle of Skye, Inverness, Nairnshire, Badenoch and Strathspey and Lochaber.

Community councils are voluntary organisations that express the views and concerns of local people within their area across a wide range of issues from new buildings and roads to local services and facilities.

The community councils looking for people to put themselves forward are listed below along with the number of vacancies to be filled:

Fortrose and Rosemarkie (6)

Marybank, Scatwell and Strathconon (6)

Shieldaig (7)

Acharacle (5)

Cawdor and West Nairnshire (5)

Duror and Kentallen (5)

Kinlochbervie (6)

Kinlochleven (5)

Nairn West and Suburban (6)

Nethybridge (6)

Slackbuie (5)

Smithton (6)

Spean Bridge, Roy Bridge and Achnacarry (9)

Staffin (5)

Strathdearn (6)

Anyone wanting to support their local community is invited to consider standing for their community council. You need to make sure that you are registered in the current Electoral Register for the community council area be 16 years old and over.

Nomination forms and copies of the scheme for the establishment of community councils can be:

• downloaded from The Highland Council website at: www.highland.gov.uk/elections ;

• obtained on request, by email to: election@highland.gov.uk ; or

• obtained by contacting the appropriate Ward Manager. Details available here - www.highland.gov.uk/elections

Completed nomination forms must be submitted to the appropriate ward manager and be received not later than noon on Tuesday, February 1. Ward managers will accept emailed copies of the form, so long as it has been correctly completed and contains the signature of the candidate and witness.

If any of the fifteen community councils receive valid nominations by the deadline that exceeds its membership number then an election will take place on Thursday, March 3 via postal ballot.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More