Published: 17/04/2017 06:00 - Updated: 12/04/2017 05:54

Dingwall comes good at Ross-shire Federation Handcraft Show

Some of the Ross-shire Federation Handcraft show pause for commemorative photograph. Picture: Ian Rhind
Some of the Ross-shire Federation Handcraft show pause for commemorative photograph. Picture: Ian Rhind

THE creative talents of participants in this year’s Ross-shire Federation of the Scottish Women’s Institutes Handcraft Show were put under the spotlight in Dingwall.

Dingwall Academy hosted the event which saw trophies awarded in a variety of categories ranging from knitting, embroidery and crochet to oil painting and photography.

Phyllis Grant of Dingwall picked up awards for knitting and crochet and also a coveted best in show.

In the Institute awards, Dingwall landed the Lady MacKenzie Challenge Cup for highest points and additional trophies for most gold stars and most entries.

Roll of Honour

Individual Awards

Paton and Baldwin Beehive Shield – Helen Fraser, Resolis, Norma Catto, Maryburgh and Conon and Phyllis Grant, Dingwall.

Nan Colling Cup for knitting – Phyllis Grant, Dingwall.

Maureen Dolman Cup for crochet – Jean Munro Resolis.

Nigg Cup for sewing – Lydia Stewart, Alness.

Matheson Challenge Cup for canvas work – Lizzie Bird, Lochalsh.

Embroidery Cup for non-canvas embroidery – Isobel Fenwick, Contin.

Jenny Wade Quaich for other crafts – Kay Dempsey, Dingwall.

Norma Catto Shield for individual best item in co-operative class – Audrey MacKinnon, Killearnan.

Lady McEwan Trophy for tourist item – Lizzie Bird, Lochalsh.

Male Relative Trophy – Norman Chisholm.

Dry Island Cup for black and white drawing – Alice Cleland, Dingwall and Helen Grainge, Garve and Loch Luichart.

Mrs MacKenzie Memorial Cup for oil – Jill Charnley, Lochalsh.

Ferintosh Cup for watercolour – Esther Thomas, Maryburgh and Conon.

Dry Island Cup for other medium – Audrey Greig, Contin.

Dry Island Cup for photography – Jill Charnley, Lochalsh.

Newmore Cup for most gold stars – Jean Munro, Resolis.

Molley Bewes cup for colour and design – Elizabeth Alexander, Kiltearn.

Miss Roberts Salver – Nettie MacLeod, Invergordon and Saltburn.

MacRae Trophy for best in show – Phyllis Grant, Dingwall.


Institute Awards

Lady MacKenzie Challenge Cup highest points – Dingwall.

SWRI Runner-up cup highest points – Ardgay.

Mrs Bruce Williamson Vases 3rd highest points – Lochalsh.

Achenames Tankard for most entries – Dingwall.

Mrs MacKay Cup for most gold stars – Dingwall.

Nan Cheyne Challenge Cup for co-op winner – Maryburgh and Conon.

Isobel Murray Quaich for 2nd in co-op – Dingwall.

Children and Young People

Agnes Munro Goblet – Rachel Scott.

Agnes Munro Goblet – Laura Beveridge.

Wee Busy Bees Trophy – Sophie Pokorneicki.

< Back


Reddit Facebook Digg Twitter Bebo